Charles W. Tu Collaborative OutReach and
Education (CORE) ECE Endowment Fund

As a long time ECE Professor, former ECE Chair, and former Associate Dean of Jacobs School of Engineering, Charles Tu announced his retirement as of July 1st, 2018. A special symposium is planned on June 2nd (Saturday) in recognition of Charles' many outstanding contributions to the ECE department and to our societies. We wish to invite you to this special symposium on June 2nd from 1 to 5:30pm, followed by a reception.

Charles has been a great scholar and respected leader for the ECE department and the greater community. Over his long and accomplished careers, he has not only made many ground breaking contributions but also led the ECE department to its prominence as a chair (99-03) and as an associate dean (04-13).

In all positions he held, Charles has been particularly active in leading the outreach and education efforts and mentoring student organizations. Charles has connected the Student Branch with the IEEE San Diego Section and mentored several generations of student presidents and officers. The UC San Diego Student Branch earned the IEEE Region 6 (Western states) Outstanding Large Student Branch Award in 2015. Since 2007 Charles has been the director of COSMOS (California State Summer School on Mathematics and Science), a four-week residential summer program for 200+ high school students His devotion to the COSMOS program has inspired numerous young people to choose STEM for their careers, including many first generation college students.

In honor of Charles' dedication to outreach and education and embracing his vision, the ECE Department decided to establish a Charles W. Tu Collaborative OutReach and Education (CORE) ECE Endowment Fund. We set the goal of raising at least $1 million over five years to make our outreach and education commitment a sustainable effort. 20% of the annual payout will go to the COSMOS program, 20% to the IEEE (including HKN, the IEEE honors society), 10% to Project in a Box, and the rest up to the discretion of the current department chair for the fund's highest impact on outreach and education.

We ask for your support to help the department achieve the goal of the fund. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the fund drive committee members below:

ECE Dept. Chair/Prof. Truong Nguyen

Dr. Hong Hou

Prof. Ming Tsuang

Dr. Luis Pineda

Prof. Yuhwa Lo

Thank you very much!